Nick 1: Not quite ready…

Here we go! Heading out tomorrow morning from Cincinnati to Chicago and then Chicago onward. I won’t be flying with the rest of the group – sadly – but I’ll be meeting them in Beijing on friday. As mentioned, I’m still not quite ready yet. I returned home from working for a summer in Glacier National Park in western Montana just late saturday night – so I’m still organizing things. As you can see in the photo below.

I’ve still got most of my clothes to pack. But I feel that after 4 years of going back and forth to Skidmore and travelling in India and Europe – I’ve got a pretty good feel for it.

Being part Chinese, I’m pretty excited to be embarking on such a personal adventure. In a way, I was raised to be American – not knowing much Mandarin or about many of the cultural intricacies. My mother emigrated here in the 80s bringing her mother and my brother – they are all very very excited for me! My biggest goal will be to improve my Mandarin so that I can communicate with my grandmother when I return. I’ll keep you updated on how that goes!

Below is a photo of the reading material I’ll be bringing:

A textbook for Mandarin, my Kindle, Lonely Planet’s travelers guide to China and… A book called Remembering China that my great aunt wrote. Born in America, she married my mother’s uncle and spent time in China – these are her memoirs.

 

Until next time! Safe travels everyone!

Leave a Reply

